Ronnie Hammond - Vocals, Background Vocals
Barry Bailey - Guitar
J.R. Cobb - Guitar, Background Vocals
Paul Goddard - Bass
Dean Daughtry - Keyboards
Robert Nix - Percussion, Drums, Background Vocals

The 10 songs on this album, including 8 written by Buddy Buie in conjunction with other band members, show ARS to have become both tighter in their playing and more polished in their song presentation. The band's pop oriented songwriting and diverse musical stylings-characteristics that would distinguish them from the rest of Southern Rock-are displayed to great effect and show a band coming into their own. The album opens with Doraville, their first regional hit that's a rocking tribute to the town where Studio One was located. Blues In Maude's Flat is an instrumental that shows off the group's musical skills to fine effect. The song Angel (What in the World's Come Over Us) showcases the band's ability to mix tempos and styles in a longer piece with outstanding musicianship.

Song by Song
1. Doraville (Buie/Nix/Bailey)-3:28
        This up-tempo tune takes the listener to a place that's "a touch of country in the city" and was their first top 40 hit. It has a pop feel the group hadn't recorded before and the production brings the base and guitars to the front in a new way.
2. Jesus Hearted People (Buie/Nix/Bailey)-3:48
        A mid-tempo number that in words and music pays tribute to the folk's back home and their "easy going ways."
3. Close the Door (Hammond/Goddard)-3:22
        A slower, bluesy song about a love that's leaving, featuring beautiful vocal and guitar interplay.
4. Blues in Maude's Flat (Green)-3:47
        This up-tempo instrumental demonstrates the top flight musical skills of the band as guitars, keyboard and bass combine to create a showcase.
5. Join the Race (Fristo)-3:57
        This song rocks as hard as anything ARS had recorded before, but a continued emphasis on restrained production only hints at things to come on future albums
6. Angel (What in the World's Come Over Us) (Buie/Nix/Bailey)-5:10
        This classic song reached #75 on the charts. It starts off as a mid-tempo reflection on love lost, and then shifts into an extended instrumental jam with the best guitar workout recorded up to this point.
7. Get Your Head out of Your Heart (Nix/Hammond)-2:28
        The pace slows for this beautiful, country-tinged reflection on leaving lost love behind.
8. The War Is Over (Cobb/Bailey)-2:00
        A slow and somber composition with exquisite instrumental work that paints a musical picture of resignation at a war's toll and the damage done.
9. Help Yourself (Buie/Cobb/Nix)-2:54
        The pace picks up again with a rocking challenge to look past others faults to do what's best..
10. Who You Gonna Run To (Buie/Cobb/Nix)-3:18
        The album closes with a bluesy rocker with some nice guitar work. This is a song the band would continue to play and record again over 20 years later.

Primary Works
Compilation Discs

Web Site Produced by: Rolling Storm Communications Corporation
© Copyright 2002-2010 - Rolling Storm Communications Corporation - All Rights Reserved -
Copyright Notice...
For information, comments or suggestions - send an e-mail to: